Iola Refendor

A woman's attempt in capturing the beauty of life.

Happy To Wait

on February 27, 2014

It was past 6AM and all the buses are filled already.

I was running late for in order to arrive on time for my 7AM shift, I should have been on the road 30 minutes ago.

At 6:30AM, I was feeling hopeless and desperate. I had no choice but to call my manager and inform her that I would be late for work.

After all, how on Earth could I possibly travel the usual one-hour ride to work, change into my uniform and put on makeup within the next 30 minutes?

Simply impossible.

After waiting, desperately praying and not to mention worrying, a white van appeared from nowhere and stopped in front of me.

The people who were waiting alongside me scampered towards the van. I on the other hand, rushed along, too without even asking where it is headed to.

I just thought that I need to get moving and be nearer to my workplace than wait for nothing.

I found a comfortable seat and gave thanks to God for this unexpected blessing.

I gave my fare to the driver and mentioned my usual drop off point.

To my horror of horrors, he told me that he would be taking another route and he wouldn’t be passing the place where I need to be.

So much for rushing without asking huh?

Since I’m already inside the van and I already advised my manager that I’ll be running late, I just agreed to the driver and asked him to drop me off at the nearest place to my workplace.

After all, what’s the point of hurrying? I’m late anyway.

Instead, I just relaxed in my seat and surrendered everything. I’ve long learned that nothing happens by accident and worrying won’t help.

We passed by unfamiliar routes and places that I’ve never been to.

After 15 minutes, I realized that we passed by the shortcut that would lead me to the boulevard where my workplace is a block away!

My heart jumped for joy. I couldn’t believe the fact that it just took us 15 minutes to traverse the usual one-hour trip.

I got off the van and hailed a cab. Inside, I did my make up and asked the driver to take me to the resort as fast as he could.

At exactly 6:50AM, I dashed to my locker and changed into my uniform.

I tapped in my ID at 6:57AM.

I reported for work at 6:59AM.

See?

Nothing is impossible.

There will come a time like this in our lives wherein we are so frustrated in waiting for a miracle to happen, for our plans to unfold and for our dreams to become a reality.

We keep on begging God to give it to us now not realizing that to every question, prayer or request, God has 3 answers and these are “Yes, No or Not Now.”

God must be laughing at us getting all worried up and anxious when in fact He already prepared a glorious future for each one of us.

We ask Him why He is leading us to unknown places, meeting difficult people, experiencing exceptional trials and having spiritual dryness and thinking that He has abandoned us all along.

We believe that we are lost and God has given up on us not realizing that in waiting, we become better.

We are growing in character and faith as He stretches us to our limits.

We are becoming more patient, more humble, more forgiving, more loving, more trusting, more hopeful.

Take heart for while you are busy in becoming the best version of yourself in your season of waiting, God is cooking up something beautiful and grand.

And when the right time comes, it will be revealed and you would be amazed and breathless as you see the big picture of His marvelous master plan for your life.

David fought lions and bears and waited until he was ready to fight Goliath.

Sarah was 80 years old when she conceived a child.

Noah built the ark and waited 120 years for the rain.

Israel waited for decades in the desert before becoming reestablished as a country.

Joseph was imprisoned for three years and was promoted as Governor of Egypt when he was let out.

Moses led the Exodus at an old age.

Jesus waited until 30 to start His mission.

It may seem like nothing is happening at the present time but in the future, you’ll see everything.

Happy waiting! 😀

(PHOTO FROM GOOGLE)

(PHOTO FROM GOOGLE)


2 responses to “Happy To Wait

  1. Berdie says:

    …indeed it’s one of Gods wonders huh! Simply because you’re one of HIS many obedient followers…BLESSING! Prayerful, Faithful, Obedient reaps unexpected blessing! LOVE U Iols!

Leave a comment